24-Hour Time Misformatting

I really hate it when companies mess up the formatting for 24-hour time. Adrienne’s phone does this too, but in a worse way.

There are two basic rules of formatting time:

  1. In 24-hour time, hours less than 10 should be zero-prefixed, so 00, 01, 02, etc.
  2. In 12-hour time, hours should never be zero-prefixed. One does not write 06 PM. It doesn’t make sense!

Mac OS X Tiger messed it up. It was right in Panther. Why, Apple?!

Update: No, the settings in [International -> Formats -> Times -> Customize… ] appear to have nothing to do with the time in the menu bar. Actually I have no idea what those are used for, but definitely not the menu bar time. Try again!

Melodramatic Store Closures

Yesterday, Adrienne and I went to REI to get a couple more things for my bike, namely, a kickstand and a cargo rack thing. The store closed early, at 6pm instead of 9pm due to the holiday. We got there at like 5:55 and got our stuff and got out of there. On the way out, someone was trying to come in, and the greeter lady said “Sorry, we’re closed.” The response: He got down on his knees and screamed “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!”

We left, and as I was attaching the kickstand to my bike in the parking lot, we hear, from the direction of OfficeMax next door, in a familiar voice, “FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!!!!” I guess they were closed too. ;)

One Night of Shopping

As I’ve mentioned before, the freaks seem to come out at night to go shopping. Last night, Adrienne and I went to Safeway and Walgreens. At Safeway we saw:

  1. A somewhat beat-up truck parked in the middle of 4 parking spots, haphazard and diagonal. The man who parked it appeared to be intoxicated.
  2. A woman who was extremely impatient to buy a giant bottle of Bacardi Rum.
  3. A man riding his shopping cart into the parking lot… why does driving the shopping cart bring out the child in everyone?

We went on to Walgreens, and behind us in line was this couple. The man, who seemed to be called “Boo” was groping the woman, and they were “whispering” (and I use that term lightly) sweet nothings. Of course they were talking loud enough for at least me to hear them, a few feet in front of them. Some excerpts:

Man: Come on baby…
Woman: Everything you can do for me, I can do for myself!
Man: Nuh uh baby, nuh uh
Woman: Oh yes, everything you can do, I can do myself!
Man: That’s not true…
Woman: Oh yes it is!

Woman: You got some pornos at your house?
Man: Uh huh
Woman: Mmm some booty movies
Man: Uh huh

[outside, in the parking lot, man still groping woman]
Woman: Stop, Boo! Fuck!
[fighting ensues, we exit quickly]

By the way, new categories for California and Freaks.